handprint
tricolor
tricolor

About

History of The Children's Advocacy Center of Greater West Texas

In 1990, Kay Noelke, Community Liaison with the Texas Department of Human Services and Jackie Martin, a volunteer and former Investigator for Children's Protective Services, began working together to explore the concept of a community- based advocacy center for child victims of physical and/or sexual abuse. At that time, the various agencies investigating allegations of child abuse lacked effective coordination. Child victims were interviewed and re-interviewed at different locations by representatives of Children's Protective Services, law enforcement, district attorney's offices, and medical facilities. This uncoordinated investigative process often re-traumatized the very children these agencies sought to rescue. It was felt an advocacy center could bring all professionals together as a team to investigate allegations and provide services for children and families in a less institutional and more home-like environment.


After touring the Dallas Children's Advocacy Center established a year earlier, and assessing its program, Kay and Jackie decided such a program seemed vital and feasible for San Angelo and neighboring towns. They drew up a list of individuals within the community who might be willing to serve as an Exploratory Committee and Board, and made appointments with each one. Every person approached was enthusiastic and agreed to serve on the board.


Charter Board Members included:

  • John Caldwell, Family Law Attorney
  • Rex Cotton, Financial Advisor and Community Volunteer
  • Linda Duncan (Goss), Director - Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)
  • Greg Dunham, OB/Gyn. Physician-Shannon Clinic
  • Linda Knightstep, Registered Nurse - Shannon Hospital
  • Dorothy Lane, Community Volunteer
  • Jim Lane, Community Volunteer
  • Jackie Martin, Community Volunteer
  • Craig Meyer, Minister - St. Paul Presbyterian Church
  • Debra Muse, Psychological Counselor
  • Kay Noelke (Vossler), Community Liaison - Texas Dept of Human Services
  • Richey Oliver, Certified Public Accountant - Oliver, Rainey and Associates
  • D'Arcy Poulson, Hospital Administrator - St. John's Hospital
  • Russell Smith, Chief of Police - San Angelo Police Department
  • Steve Smith, Tom Green County District Attorney
  • Diane Wilson, Investigator - Tom Green County District Attorney's office

Brian Martin, an attorney in Midland, volunteered to help create the Articles of Incorporation and initial By-Laws, and assisted in the application for 501c3 Non- Profit status for the organization.


In order to conduct initial business such as grant applications and meetings, the need for an Executive Director became clear; however, funding was not yet in place to hire one. Jackie Martin and D'Arcy Poulson agreed to serve as Co-Directors, and for the first several months they received modest paychecks that were donated back to the project. Earliest funding sources included the Texas Department of Human Services, the United Way of the Concho Valley and the Junior League of San Angelo.


The Charter Board was truly an amazing, synergistic group who worked many hours to develop a strong meaningful mission statement and revised by-laws. At some point early on, it was decided that professionals like the District Attorney, Physician Advisor, CASA Director, Law Enforcement, etc. should be Advisory Board members so that they could remain on the Board without term limits.


Once the Board defined how the program would operate within the community, it sought a location that could be both functional and non-threatening to children and families. After considering several other locations, the Board decided that the Ridgway home located at 317 Koberlin Street (built in 1906 by the Austin family) would make an excellent facility and the Ridgway family agreed to sell it to our organization for that purpose. Grant applications were written and funding procured to purchase, renovate and operate "Hope House", as the Koberlin house was christened. Within a year, the Board hired Stacy Smith (Page) as the program's Executive Director.


From its earliest days, the Children's Advocacy Center has been successful in dramatically improving services to child victims of abuse, coordinated investigation of abuse allegations, and successful prosecution of abuse perpetrators. Its survival and continued growth over the past twenty years is testament to its vital role within our community.


Read MoreRead More

Timeline:

  • 1990 - Two individuals Kay Noelke and Jackie Martin saw a need for a Children's Advocacy Center in San Angelo, Texas.
  • 1991 - 501c3 non-profit status was granted to the Children's Advocacy Center of Tom Green County.
  • 1992 - November 11, 1992 the first child was interviewed at the Hope House.
  • 1998 - Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) joins the Children's Advocacy Center of Tom Green County, Inc.
  • 1999 - Family Enrichment Services was created to offer a whole family approach to strengthening families in the Tom Green County and surrounding areas.
  • 2001 - The Child Fatality Review Team was organized to evaluate child deaths in a 13-county region to improve response to child fatalities and learn what can be done to prevent future child deaths from occuring
  • 2005 - The Concho Valley Family Alliance was created and administered by CAC Tom Green through partnerships between parents, residents, and professionals all committed to child advocacy.
  • 2012 - 20 years of ensuring a safe and nurturing home for every child in our community.
  • 2014 - Family Enrichment Services implements Family Connections, an evidence-based, nationally replicated social work model.
  • 2015 - Strengthening Child Welfare Continuum Group was created with the hopes of strengthening the child welfare system by evaluating policies and filling gaps.
  • 2016 - Hope House implements the Multidisciplinary Enhancement Project (MEP) and begins reviewing the statewide child abuse hotline for Reagan and Tom Green counties, ensuring no child or family slips through the cracks and receives every service they deserve.
  • 2019 - The Children's Advocacy Center of Tom Green County changes its name to the Children's Advocacy Center of Greater West Texas.

Current Board Members

Rick Mantooth

President


Sharanda El-Masri

Vice President


Michelle Perkey

Treasurer/Finance Chair


Colleen Haddad

Secretary


Jeff Curry

Past President


Diane Wilson

Fundraising Chair


Mike Hennings

Member at Large


Cara Barker

Board Member


Tanner Bryant

Board Member


Crystin Darby

Board Member


Fred Key

Board Member


Dr. Robert LeGrand

Board Member


Derek McIntyre

Board Member


James Skinner

Board Member


Monty Stanley

Board Member


Sheila Velarde

Board Member


Shane Wilson

Board Member


Leann Forbes

Advisory Member


Val Frank

Advisory Member


Susan Looka

Advisory Member


Patricia Mertz

Advisory Member


Shelley New

Advisory Member


Patty Stokes

Advisory Member


Carol Whitehead

Advisory Member


Current CAC Staff

Heather Ward

Executive Director
hward@cacgreaterwtx.org


Keren Harris

Executive Assistant
kharris@cacgreaterwtx.org


Jacob Bridgeman

Operations Manager
jbridgeman@cacgreaterwtx.org


Lindsey Woodruff

Marketing Coordinator
lwoodruff@cacgreaterwtx.org


Justin DeLoach

Director of Community Development
jdeloach@cacgreaterwtx.org


Razanna Thomas

Director of Community Engagement
rthomas@cacgreaterwtx.org


Rebekah Beltran

Volunteer Coordinator
rbeltran@cacgreaterwtx.org


Melody Jeter

Community Education Coordinator
melodyjeter@cacgreaterwtx.org


Shirley Davis

Director of CASA
sdavis@cacgreaterwtx.org


Rachel Wright

CASA Coordinator
rwright@cacgreaterwtx.org


Connie Gauwain

CASA Case Manager
cgauwain@cacgreaterwtx.org


Vanessa Dannheim

CASA Case Manager
vhayes@cacgreaterwtx.org


Jennifer Giese

CASA Case Manager
jgiese@cacgreaterwtx.org


Maureen Soupiset

CASA Case Manager
msoupiset@cacgreaterwtx.org


Monica Escobedo

Director of Hope House
mescobedo@cacgreaterwtx.org


Jennifer Dube

Hope House Coordinator/Lead Forensic Interviewer
jdube@cacgreaterwtx.org


Jennifer Wagoner

Intake Coordinator
jwagoner@cacgreaterwtx.org


Alexandrea Almeida

Intake Coordinator/Forensic Interviewer
aalmeida@cacgreaterwtx.org


Lauren Harrall

Family Advocate
lharrall@cacgreaterwtx.org


Melody Tait

Family Advocate
mtait@cacgreaterwtx.org


Belinda Braly

Director of Family Enrichment Services
bbraly@cacgreaterwtx.org


Marcy Ash

Family Services Coordinator
mash@cacgreaterwtx.org


Sierra Mullan

Youth Services Coordinator
smullan@cacgreaterwtx.org


Camille Duarte

Parent Mentor
cduarte@cacgreaterwtx.org


Christina Barrera

Parent Educator
cbarrera@cacgreaterwtx.org


Maegan Hard

Parent Educator
mhard@cacgreaterwtx.org


Dr. Steffany Homolka

Therapist
shomolka@cacgreaterwtx.org


Matt Groth

Therapist
mgroth@cacgreaterwtx.org